Louisville wins Metro title; Lady Seminoles finish 3rd

Led by the play of tournament MVP Lesa Moore, Louis-ville defeated Cincinnati in three straight games, 17-15, 15-12 and 15-12, Tuesday to win the 1982 Metro Conference Volleyball Championship. With the victory, Louisville advances to the first round of the NCAA championships, which begin Dec. 3 at a site to

Florida State, which won the sportsmanship award presented by the tournament referees, defeated Memphis State 15-5, 15-5 and 15-7 for third place. The match marked the end of FSU's season, an injury-besieged campaign that saw the Lady Seminoles finish 27-17 after capturing fourth

place in last year's AIAW national tournament.

FSU led all teams, however, in placing three players, Alicia Cross, Marie Sanders and Karyn Palgut, on the all-tournament team. Other players selected were Moore and Liz Egger, of Louisville, Brenda Grubbe, of Cincinnati, and Holly Buford, of Memphis State.

Louisville, which entered the tournament as the second-seeded team, had to fight back the artist tournament.

seeded team, had to fight back the entire tournament. Against FSU in the semifinals, Louisville came back from 10-1 and 8-0 deficits to record a three-hour 15-13, 14-16, 11-15, 15-12 and 15-13 victory. Tuesday, Louisville was down 10-1 in the second game of the match.

Runnerup Cincinnati earned a finals berth by defeating Memphis State 19-17, 0-15, 15-4 and 15-6.

Louisville 5-1, Cincinnati 5-1, FSU 4-2, Memphis State 4-2, Tulane 3-5, rginis Tech 1-5, Southern Missistrol 1-5, Semilicals
Louisville cel. FSU 15-13, 1s-16, 15-13, 15-12 and 15-13.
Cincinnati del. Memphis State 19-17, 0-15, 15-4 and 15-6.
Consolation
FSU del. Memphis State 15-5, 15-5 and 15-7.
Finals.

Louisville del. Cincinnati 17-15, 15-12 and 15-12.